Food

Food Review: CBTL’s Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Peanut butter cupcakes
This is not my photo but this is what Coffee Bean’s Peanut Butter Cupcakes looks like just add some peanut butter chips! Yum!

Growing up, I always loved food. Who wouldn’t? I fairly believe in the saying, “You are what you eat”, the food that you devour says a lot about your background and character. For example, if you love Adobo, then you must be Filipino, a real one or by heart. If you love Nasi Lemak, you must be Malaysian. Although it should be understood that it is not limited to this context. It can be that if you like spicy food, you like heating things up. If you love to eat those earthy herbs and spices, you appreciate simpler things and if you love sweets (like me!) then you are a sweet person. (ehem!) 🙂

Today was a typical Sunday. Before I went for a meeting in KL Sentral, I had the mandatory ‘me time’ in Mid Valley Megamall and in my world, the ‘me time’ means eating in outrageous proportions! But today was typical because of something familiar, I chose to spend it in a session of coffee and sweets. Then, I saw something new on the pastries section, they have a new product, it’s called a Peanut Butter Cupcake. I was quite intrigued! Coffee Bean is not a cupcake place, it is more of the brownie and cheese cakes just like the Starbucks and Gloria Jeans. But since I love peanut butter and it is in a cupcake? Seems like a good pitch for me Coffee Bean!

Taste: The cupcake had a very nice peanut butter base, not too sweet, just right. From the moment I started having a bite; I felt the base of the cupcake’s flaky texture. The cake itself was lavishly mixed with chocolate and peanut butter chips that contributed to its enticing smell. On top was peanut butter frosting healthily sprinkled with more peanut butter and chocolate chips. Bite after bite, I couldn’t stop; you will feel guilty because it is really good and appetizing (I had a heavy lunch prior to this by the way).

Prize: For only 6 Ringgit or 84 Pesos, you can now enjoy this treat. Mid-range prize and it’s a healthy portion, so I say it is fairly prized. I recommend that shell out a bit more for some beverage because this is best paired with a Chai Latte or Tea. But whatever goes your palette dear, that’s still A-OK!

Problem: But there is one thing Coffee Bean, the cupcake is so heavy on my belly. It’s not a cupcake; I think it’s more of a cake. A cupcake should be light (not filling) and packs a lot of guilt whereas in a cake, eating it is filling and guilty.

Verdict: For me I would give this 3 out of 5 stars because it still worth a try.

P.S. I don’t have a picture because I dropped my phone in a taxi. So I just Googled a random cupcake picture that makes this post totally legit. HAHA!

Leave a Reply

